To Subjugate or Serve? Propagandhi’s ‘Supporting Caste’

I was born in 1987, I was 15 when 9/11 occurred. It was a few months later that I listened to Today’s Empires, Tomorrow’s Ashes (I didn’t discover How to Clean Everything until months later). I will not lie, I didn’t understand much of that record. I didn’t understand Noam Chomsky’s 9/11 either, or A People’s History of the United States, but one can see a pattern for my line of thought and Propagandhi has a place in it. They were an inspiration to start a band, write the songs I did, and scream the way I could (if interested, one of our EP’s is available online). As their new album drops on March 10, 2009 (the review follows) I will also be seeing them for the first time in Virginia Beach at Peabody’s, after nearly a decade of listening to them. These are a compilation of thoughts I’d been saving for three weeks now, written in one session at 3am.

propagandhi-supporting-caste

To continue reading my review, come to my new site – To the Roots – by clicking on the album cover for ‘Supporting Caste.’

~ by Daniel on March 5, 2009.

4 Responses to “To Subjugate or Serve? Propagandhi’s ‘Supporting Caste’”

  1. Excellent review and analysis. I will link to this on my own review of the album since it’s quite similar to yours–I discuss a few different tracks, but overall a similar take. Let me know what you think!

    http://xugro.wordpress.com/2009/03/27/supporting-caste/

    X.

  2. […] similar review by a historian can be seen here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)The Merry Widow ReviewsMore ejournals from […]

  3. I <3 Propagandhi. I haven’t given this album a really careful listen yet, though, so I’ll comment on something else.

    Oddly, the game Counter Strike didn’t remotely dehumanize “terrorists” for me. I’d say the opposite. Why? Because the largely arbitrary nature of which team you end up on reminds me that both sides in a conflict are human, and the satisfaction of planting the bomb and winning the game in a shower of debris makes being a “terrorist” in CS as fun as being a “good guy”.

    America’s Army, on the other hand… yeah that game is pure “Hoo-ah USA!” You can never be the “other” in that game, since each side sees itself as the Americans, and the enemy as the bad guys. A twisted head game for sure.

  4. great review! definite insight to such a powerful band with deep feelings showing sincere and real integrity when it comes to music and message. saw them three times on this recent tour. wow.

Leave a Reply

 
